St. Mary's C. of E. Primary Academy

and Nursery


School Calendar

August 2018
29 30 31 1 2 3 4
5 6 7 8 9 10 11
12 13 14 15 16 17 18
19 20 21 22 23 24 25
26 27 28 29 30 31 1

Latest Events

No events


English French German Italian Portuguese Russian Spanish


Use this section of the website to meet the staff of St Mary’s! 


IMG 0119   Edited
Mrs Jo Booker
Head Teacher
Designated Safeguarding Lead
Inclusion Manager
Specialist Leader of Education in Early Years
 IMG 0114   Edited
Miss Maureen Woodley
Deputy Head Teacher
Class Teacher
Early Years Lead
Specialist Leader of Education in Behaviour Management
 IMG 0148   Edited
Mr Joseph Broadfield 
Assistant Head Teacher
Class Teacher
Maths Lead
Computing Lead
Specialist Leader of Education in Computing
 IMG 0125   Edited
Mr Ian Smith
Assistant Head Teacher

Design Technology Lead
Science Lead
Mrs Helen Holton
Supporting English, Grammar, Spelling in Year 2 & 6
Target Setting and Assessment Administrator
National Support School Manager
IMG 0139   Edited
Miss Sarah Swords
Assistant Head Teacher
Class Teacher
English Lead
Specialist Leader of Education in English
ITT Graduate Programme Primary Leader
IMG 0110   Edited
Mrs Rebecca Freeman
Class Teacher
History and Geography Lead

Mrs Sarah Smith-Welch
Class Teacher

Mrs Jennie Sullvarna-Hall
Class Teacher
Religious Education Lead
IMG 0123   Edited
Mrs Gurdeep Jagpal
Class Teacher
Art Lead
Miss Joy Minshall
Class Teacher


Miss Nikita Hira
Class Teacher

Mr Mikhail Blake
Class Teacher

 IMG 0112   Edited
Mrs Maxine Pitterson
Nursery Teacher
Miss Justine Barnard
Class Teacher
(Currently on Maternity Leave)
IMG 0118   Edited
Mrs Donna Winters 
Class Teacher
IMG 0115   Edited
Mrs Emma Williams
Teaching Assistant
Before school club play leader
IMG 0121   Edited
Miss Debs Alleyne
Teaching Assistant
After school club play leader
IMG 0154   Edited
Miss Nikki Platt
Teaching Assistant 
IMG 0158   Edited
Miss Gemma Holder
Teaching Assistant

IMG 0111   Edited

Mrs Alex Wigley
Teaching Assistant
Inclusion Support

Mr Lee Harris
Teaching Assistant

Mrs Farzana Chughtai
Teaching Assistant
 Staff Photos   website 044
Ms Kiran Kumari
Teaching Assistant
Miss Carol Smith
Teaching Assistant
Miss Suzanne Price
Teaching Assistant

Miss Jenny Danks
Teaching Assistant

Miss Ann Clayton
Teaching Assistant

IMG 0122   Edited
Mrs Elizabeth Lee
Office Manager
IMG 0117   Edited
Miss Lee Francis
IMG 0155   Edited
Mrs Kalie Bains
Learning Mentor and Pastoral Lead
Family liaison
IMG 0116   Edited
Mr Simon Sturridge
Learning Mentor
Outdoor Pursuits
Mr Chris Pritchard
Learning Mentor

Mr Steve Berry
ICT Support and Technician
Learning Mentor
Mrs Naoual Khebouz
Dinner Supervisor
Mrs Ritu Bali
Dinner Supervisor
Mrs Pushpal Patel
Dinner Supervisor
Mrs Balvinder Hira
Dinner Supervisor
Mrs Kulwant Kaur
Dinner Supervisor
Mrs Raghbir Matharu
Dinner Supervisor
Mrs Jaswinder Sandhu
Dinner Supervisor

The Governing Body meet once a term to discuss strategic decisions and school improvement. There are several committees which meet regularly. The Governing Body includes elected representatives of parents and teachers as well as representatives of the local authority, community groups and the Diocese. Governors hold office for four years. Governors can only act together, they cannot act individually. All of our governors are allocated a class which they are paired with; this enables governors to have a hands-on understanding of the day to day ethos and values of the school.

To download the declaration of interests information please click the link for each Governor.

List of Governors

DB2      Decleration of Interests

Mr Dave Bagley - Chair of Governors

Mr Bagley is a company director who specialises in giving support to schools particularly in the area of finance and school improvement. He has been a governor for many years.

Decleration of Interests

Mr Jagtar Sehjal - Vice Chair 

He is a senior IT specialist involved in international work and an active parent governor. He has been a governor for many years.

FB2      Decleration of Interests

Revd Dr Bob Stephen

Father Bob joined us as the new Rector at St Mary's Church. He is a former Secondary School teacher and plays an active role in life at St Mary's C of E Academy.

Decleration of Interests

Miss Mary Edwards

Miss Edwards is a former Director of Education for Birmingham Diocesan Board of Education and is a former Head Teacher. She is currently a Lay Reader.

ME2      Decleration of Interests

Mr Mike Ewins - Parent Governor

Mr Ewins is a senior social worker and is our Safeguarding Champion. He has been a governor for a number of years and is an active Parent Governor.

Decleration of Interests

Ms Helena France

Ms France has been a Governor for over 20 years. She is a retired teacher who has a wealth of EAL experience.

IMG 0114   Edited      Decleration of Interests

Miss Maureen Woodley- Deputy Head Teacher- Staff Governor

Miss Woodley has been a teacher at St Mary’s for 19 years. She is a Specialist Leader of Education in Behaviour Management, Deputy Head and Early Years Lead. 

IMG 0110   Edited      Decleration of Interests

Mrs Rebecca Freeman-Staff Governor

Mrs Freeman has been at teacher at St Mary's for 5 years. She leads Geography, History and Key Stage One.

EL2      Decleration of Interests

Mrs Ethel Lubin

Mrs Lubin has been a Governor for many years and works in a local Primary School as a Teaching Assistant.

 Decleration of Interests

Ms Sheila Lyman-Ward

Ms Lyman-Ward has been a Governor for a number of years and is a retired Secondary School Head Teacher.

Decleration of Interests

Mrs Sharon Dooley- Parent Governor

Mrs Dooley is a new Parent Governor who works in Adult Education.

 Decleration of Interests

Mrs Melanie Johnson

Mrs Johnson is a new Parent Governor who is also a teacher at another primary school.

Decleration of Interests

Mrs Anthea Insular-Butcher

Mrs Insular-Butcher is a new Parent Governor who teaches in higher education. 


Miss Susan Crosthwaite

Miss Crosthwaite our Clerk.